OAA Awards: Call for Entries

The Ontario Association of Architects is now inviting submissions for its biennial OAA Awards program. These awards showcase the best in built projects by Ontario practices and achievements by architects. For Design Excellence, it is an opportunity to present completed projects that are exceptional, sustainable, and innovative. For the Service Awards, it is a chance to recognize both emerging and established architects for their careers and their contributions—you can put forth your name for Best Emerging Practice or nominate a deserving candidate for other awards.


Design Excellence

Recognizing the innovative skills of Ontario architects in creating spaces, buildings, and communities that respect and enhance the environment and enrich human activity, up to 10 Design ExcellenceAwards will be chosen by a jury. Any form of built architecture created by members of the OAA, located anywhere in the world, completed since January 2018, and currently in use are eligible.

As part of its five-year strategic plan, the OAA remains committed to Climate Action. Design Excellence submissions require mandatory Energy Usage Intensity (EUI) reporting for eligibility. The Association offers two free online tools that enable you to measure the Total Energy Use Intensity (TEUI) of a building. The TEUI Calculator allows you to determine an existing building’s energy performance, while the new TEUI 2.0 calculates both the TEUI and Thermal Energy Demand Intensity (TEDI) of a project. Check out the TEUI page on the OAA Website for more information.


Service Awards—NEW for 2024

The new Medal of Service recognizes individuals who have provided exceptional service and leadership to the profession and/or public through promotion, advocacy, education, or other contributions and achievements. This honour is a continued evolution of the now-sunset G. Randy Roberts Service Award and Order of da Vinci.


Other awards this year include:

  • Best Emerging Practice (recognizing the contribution of young firms that demonstrate a clear vision, well-articulated goals, and proven effective strategies)
  • Lifetime Design Achievement (recognizing an architect’s career-long commitment to the promotion and achievement of architectural design excellence)
  • Honour Roll (recognizing prominent members of the architectural profession who are now deceased).


Submit or Nominate Today!

The online system is quick and easy, and allows users to save their submissions and return later to complete the form. Check out the Online Nomination Walkthrough (link to come) for a step-by step guide.

With the two-year cycle, the next opportunity to submit Design Excellence or Service Awards will be for the 2026 program. Don’t miss your chance—submit by Friday, January 19, 2024!



Submit Here

When Deadline to submit: January 19, 2024, 11:59 PM.