Upcoming Events

Dec 10 2021 Calls / Competitions /

Governor General’s Medals in Architecture 2022 | Call for Submissions

Submission deadline is December 10, 2021, at 11:59 p.m. ET.

More Info / Submit

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the Canada Council for the Arts invite architects to participate in the competition for the 2022 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture.

Awarded every two years, the 12 medals recognize and celebrate outstanding design in recently completed built projects – big or small – by Canadian architects.

The Governor General’s Medals in Architecture are among this country’s most prestigious and coveted architectural awards. Recipients receive an exceptional opportunity to:

  • celebrate achievement with their team and clients
  • reach new markets
  • attract new business and talent
  • gain exposure across Canada and internationally

The submission deadline is December 10, 2021, at 11:59 p.m. ET. Applying is quick and easy with the RAIC’s new online submission platform. RAIC members receive a discount on the entry fee.

The call for submissions is open to all architects or teams of architects who were the lead design architects. They must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada, and licensed or registered with a Canadian provincial or territorial jurisdiction.

The RAIC, with the RAIC College of Fellows, is proud to organize and administer the competition. The Canada Council for the Arts selects and administers the peer assessment committee.

The 2022 jury members are:

Dr. Izabel Fraga Do Amaral E Silva, Director-School of Architecture, University of Montreal, Montreal, QC

Anik Shooner, FIRAC, President and co-founder of Menkès Shooner Dagenais LeTourneux Architectes, Montreal, QC

Dr. Patrick Stewart, MRAIC, Principal-Patrick Stewart Architecture, Chilliwack, B.C.

Christian Benimana, RA, Senior Principal MASS Design Group & Director of the African Design Centre, Kigali, Rwanda

Dr. Lígia Nunes, Chair- architecture sans frontières International, Lisboa, Portugal

The medals recognize excellence in the art of architecture. The jury will assess the architectural and artistic merit of the design, taking into consideration factors such:

  • conceptual clarity
  • innovation and uniqueness
  • compatibility with the site
  • sustainable design
  • detailing

Eligible projects are those that were built in and outside of Canada and completed between January 1, 2014, and September 1, 2021.

See past recipients.

About the Governor General’s Medals in Architecture

The Governor General’s Medals in Architecture, created by the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada, contribute to the development of the discipline and practice of architecture and increase public awareness of architecture as a vital cultural force in Canadian society.

The objective is to recognize and celebrate outstanding design in recently completed built projects by Canadian architects. The 2022 competition continues a tradition initiated by the Massey Medals in 1950, providing an important source of understanding of the nature of Canadian architecture and the regional, cultural and historic forces expressed in the built environment.

The RAIC is committed to equity and justice as well as inclusion across race, colour, religion, gender, gender identity or expression, sexual orientation, disability and age and encourages anyone interested in the Honours and Awards Program to submit.