Upcoming Events

Apr 7 2017 Lecture /

Daniels Faculty Lecture Series: Kenneth Frampton, Craig Buckley, and Keller Easterling

6:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Innis Town Hall
2 Sussex Avenue

Free Admission (registration required)

Event website

Registration opening soon!

This will be a ticketed event. The registration page will be posted shortly, check back soon!

“Where is the critical voice in architecture today?” will attempt to address the relationship between architectural production and broadcasting through publishing and other media practices. What is the role of the editor or critic in the context of a general fatigue associated with the mediatization of architecture, whether through the ease of its reproduction or exhaustive festivalization? Within this milieu, how can architecture reclaim its role in producing compelling imaginaries that become catalysts for debate?

Kenneth Frampton’s work as a writer and teacher has had a profound influence in the field of architecture. Born in the United Kingdom in 1930, he was trained as an architect at the Architectural Association School of Architecture in London. Over the course of his career, he has written countless books and essays on architecture, including Modern Architecture and the Critical Present (1980), Studies in Tectonic Culture (1995), American Masterworks (1995), Le Corbusier (2001), Labour, Work & Architecture (2005), and an updated fourth edition of Modern Architecture: A Critical History (2007). Early in his career he served as the editor of the British magazine Architectural Design.

Frampton’s teaching career has had an equally far-reaching effect on innumerable students and scholars. He has taught a number of leading institutions including the Royal College of Art, ETH Zurich, EPFL Lansanne, and the Berlage Institute in The Netherlands, among others. He is currently the Ware Professor of Architecture at the GSAPP, Columbia University in New York.

Prominent awards include: the American Institute of Architects National Honours Award (1985), the Médaille d’Or of the Parisian Académie d’Architecture (1987), the Phi Beta Kappa Award (1987), the AIA New York Chapter Award of Merit (1988) and the Topaz Medal for excellence in architectural education from the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (1990). More recently, he received the Schelling Architecture Theory Prize (2012), and the First International Architecture Award Javier Carvajal (2012).

Frampton has received honorary doctorates from: The Stockholm Royal Institute of Technology (1991), the University of Waterloo (1995), and the California College of Arts and Crafts (1999).

Keller Easterling is an architect, writer and professor at Yale. Her most recent book, Extrastatecraft: The Power of Infrastructure Space (Verso, 2014), examines global infrastructure as a medium of polity. Another recent book, Subtraction (Sternberg, 2014), considers building removal or how to put the development machine into reverse. Other books include: Enduring Innocence: Global Architecture and its Political Masquerades (MIT, 2005) and Organization Space: Landscapes, Highways and Houses in America (MIT, 1999).
Craig Buckley’s bio coming soon…