Upcoming Events

Jan 16 2019 Event /

BEAT Dinner with Marina Tabassum

6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Locale Mercatto
330 Bay Street



BEAT dinner series is bimonthly dinner with access to sensational food and stimulating conversation. BEAT believes that every conversation counts and works to create inviting contexts that foster open dialogue. Each BEAT dinner is hosted at a remarkable Toronto restaurant. A highlight of this event is that a different guest of honour will be invited to each dinner.

Marina Tabassum

Marina Tabassum founded her firm in 2005 and is based in Dhaka, Bangladesh. Her practice is one that seeks to establish a language of architecture that is contemporary yet rooted in place. Her work is varied and focuses on community centres, public schools, museums and eco resorts.

Ms. Tabassum graduated from Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology in 1995. The same year, she founded URBANA where she was a partner for 10 years. The most important project of this partnership is the Independence Monument of Bangladesh and the Museum of Independence designed in 1997 and completed in 2013.

Ms. Tabassum is the academic director of the Bengal Institute for Architecture, Landscapes and Settlements. She taught Design studio at Harvard University Graduate School of Design. She taught Advanced Design Studio as visiting professor at the University of Texas in 2015 and in BRAC University from 2005 to 2010.

She is a member of the Steering Committee of Aga Khan Awards for Architecture. She is also a member of the Board of Directors of Prokritee, a guaranteed Fare Trade organization that has empowered thousands of women and artisans of Bangladesh through export of handcrafted objects.

Ms. Tabassum won the Jameel Prize 5 in 2018. She is also a recipient of 2016 Aga Khan Award for Architecture for the Bait ur Rouf Mosque in Dhaka. Her project the Pavilion Apartment was shortlisted for the Aga Khan Award in 2004. Ms. Tabassum received the AYA Award from India in 2004 for the project NEK10 located in Dhaka. She is a recipient of 2005 Ananya Shirshwa Dash Award, which recognizes women of Bangladesh with exceptional achievements.

Limited tickets to the dinner will be available.